The College Post
The College Post -- Covering Higher Education in America

Murray State University Professor Wins Neil Weber Award

A telecommunications professor at Murray State University has received the 2019 Neil Weber Award for his services and research contributions to the university.

The Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering, and Technology named Dr. Abdul Yarali, a professor of telecommunications systems management as the recipient of the award for his contributions towards its telecommunications and cybersecurity programs. Yarali will receive a $2,500 stipend for the next academic year to be used for research, conferences, travel or other projects.

The award, which was established to honor former college dean Neil Weber, recognizes individuals with outstanding service and contributions to the university through academic research grants and development, classroom activities, student recruitment, governmental relations, publications, and program leadership.

“I am very grateful for the excellence that Dr. Yarali provides Murray State students, both within the classroom and via his research contributions,” Dr. Claire Fuller, dean of the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology, said.

Yarali is well-known in the field of wireless mobile communication technology. In the past, he has received widespread acclaim, including an award for his research paper on telecommunications at an international conference in 2010.

“I am very honored and humbled to have been awarded the Neil Weber Award for Excellence and to now be among past recipients, whom I admire greatly,” Yarali said.

“Teaching and research have been my dream since I was 9 years old and I have enjoyed working with our students as a teacher, mentor, and advisor,” he added.

Rutgers University Professor Wins $1 Million Army Research Award