Friday, May 14, 2021
Home Faculty Northwestern University Accepting Nominations for Nanoscience Awards

Northwestern University Accepting Nominations for Nanoscience Awards


Two prestigious international prizes in nanoscience and nanomedicine, established by Northwestern University, are now accepting nominations.

The deadline to nominate a researcher, which could include a member of the university faculty, for the $250,000 Kabiller Prize in Nanoscience and Nanomedicine and the $10,000 Kabiller Young Investigator Award is May 15, 2019.

Both of the prizes were established in 2015 and recognize researchers who have made significant contributions to the field of nanotechnology and its application to medicine and biology.

“Our goal is to recognize the outstanding accomplishments in nanoscience and nanomedicine that have the potential to benefit all humankind,” David G. Kabiller, a Northwestern trustee and alumnus, said.

The Kabiller Award selection committee is comprised of an independent, international committee of experts. It will announce and hand over the prizes to winners in November 2019.

Last year, Robert Langer, the David H. Koch Institute Professor in the department of biochemistry at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), won the Kabiller Prize, while Liangfang Zhang, professor at the University of California, San Diego, won the Young Investigator Award.

Rice University Professor Wins 2019 Spiers Memorial Award


You Might Also Like

Latest Posts

St. John’s University Planning to Open Nursing Program This Fall

St. John’s University in New York plans to offer a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing when in-person classes recommence this fall.

Ohio Lottery Offers Free College or $1M for Getting COVID Vaccine

A vaccination lottery drawing in Ohio will give vaccinated individuals in the state the chance to win either $1 million or a full college scholarship.

EPA Funds UNM Drinking and Wastewater Projects

The University of New Mexico is receiving $3.7 million in funding to assist in the operations and train the workforce of small drinking water and wastewater systems across the country.